Almost There

Attention all seniors… we’re almost there. It’s been a long haul hasn’t it? But it’s almost felt like the past four years have flown by in lightning speed. There are a lot of things that I wish I had done differently – lots of regrets… but I’m not going to get into that for now.

One thing’s for sure, high school wasn’t an easy ride. There was a time when I didn’t think I’d be able to get into the college I wanted to and before that there were times when I’d get so worried about school that I wanted to give up… but I didn’t. No matter how beat up I’d get I always got back on the saddle.

But that saddle is old and worn now, and so is the horse. Now it’s time I invest in a car – that car being college. Pretty soon all those worries and hardships from high school will mean absolutely nothing because I’ll be in a whole new world. Not a single human being I know will be with me and I can say that this is definitely a first for me. I did go to a new high school after 8th grade but I had my brother and 1 friend from my old school with me. This made me feel like no matter where I went I always had a little bit of “home” with me until eventually the “new” high school became “my” high school – giving me a home once again. But just as I’ve settled in… it’s time to move.

It seems like going to college is almost like going to an alien planet. I’ll meet people of all types and nationalities. NO face will be a familiar face and I’m worried about that. At least it will make things easier once I realize that nobody else knows anyone either and they will be looking for new friends just as I am. Hopefully this “new” college will turn into my home eventually, just as my high school has.

It’s okay to leave things behind, physically. But I like to think that every thing, person, and place I’ve ever considered to be close with me will always be there, locked in the treasure chest in my heart. Whenever I get nervous, anxious, or any other feeling really, I’ll dig something out of the treasure chest.

Seniors… Tyler, It’s time to start moving forward.

Leave a Reply

