Stress

Let’s talk about stress. As we all know, stress is a feeling that comes in many forms. You may get stress due to work, love, death, school… the list goes on and on. To many people, stress is one of the worst feelings in the world, but lately I’ve begun to realize that stress can be helpful… and if it were to just disappear, things simply wouldn’t be the same.

Imagine what it would be like if there was no such thing as stress. It’s the night before a big speech – not your run of the mill middle or high school speech – not even a college speech for that matter. This is a presidential speech. Imagine if Obama wasn’t nervous or stressed out about any decision he ever made. What if you weren’t stressed out about writing your college essay? Success is driven by stress. If a presidential speech was not stressed about, it wouldn’t be fit for the whole nation to hear. If Obama never stressed over any of the decisions he had to make, he wouldn’t have put as much effort in to them to make sure they were the right decisions. If you weren’t stressed over your college essay, maybe you would have never been accepted into that college, and maybe you would have never earned your degree.

Stress used to be a definite enemy of mine. I asked it to leave and it would only fill up my thoughts even more, making it impossible for me to shove it aside any longer. “If only stress didn’t exist” I’d think to myself. “Then I could get this done without worrying about how it’s going turn out”. That’s just the thing though. If I hadn’t stressed about it or the consequences I would have had if it had remained unfinished, I wouldn’t have done whatever it was in the first place. So let me end this short post with a quote.

“Stress is caused by being here but wanting to be there.

So picture yourself there, and ask yourself “how did I get here?”. Do what it tells you.

Be productive,

Tyler

Leave a Reply

