Faded Feelings

Remember the first time you heard your favorite song? You were probably sitting in the car or on your bed – maybe even at a party or walking on the street. Regardless, do you remember that feeling? The feeling you got the very first time you heard the song and you didn’t know what was going to come next… but you loved it. Since music is such a big part of my life, having this moment is one of my favorite things in the world, but as I listen to it more and more I don’t get that same feeling of amazement as I did when I first heard it and eventually you reach the point when it becomes one of those “annoying songs” you hear on the radio but still get stuck in your head. This doesn’t happen all the time but nevertheless, those feelings fade. As I’ve continued to grow in age and experience, reality has started to hit me. Things get old, and it’s hard to keep trying to find the next best thing to keep your senses alive.

The first time I ever experienced this feeling of “something getting old” or even just the feeling of being hit in the face by reality, was during Christmas. When I was little and I realized that there was no such thing as Santa Claus, everything about Christmas started to lose it’s magic. It just didn’t have the same feel to it.

Like I said before, music is a big part of my life so I associate music with seasons but more importantly, places. Every summer I go to Martha’s Vineyard for a one week vacation but this year I will not be going. I was listening to a song by Dave Matthews band called “You and Me” a few nights ago and I got that feeling again. It had been such a long time since I listened to the song, so I forgot how it sounded and how it felt to listen to it. The feeling was so intense that I could almost close my eyes and imagine that I was in the car on the island of Martha’s Vineyard where I heard the song for the first time.

I know this was a random post but I think there is one thing we can take away from it. Time is the best medicine. Whether it’s preparing that wound where all your feelings seemed to fall out of – or something much worse like depression, time can heal anything to an extent. Time allows things to get better and time allows you to forget something, and then let it fill you back up again in the future. Reality hurts, but time also allows you to get used to it. Maybe it won’t be that bad after all.

Leave a Reply

